Socrative

15 Apr

socrative

After a term of trying and facing some ‘obstacles’ I have decided that I am pressing ahead with introducing new tools to my teaching and tomorrow I’m going to try Socrative for the first time with my Year 9 GCSE ICT group. It’s incredibly easy to use and what is fantastic is the students don’t have to log in – they just need the room number of the teacher and the activity is set up straight way, they enter their name and commence. I’ve been wanting to use it for some time and think it has huge potential but of course would be better if the school had wireless or a BYOD policy in place. We have neither. Luckily I can use it in the computer suites so intend to fully explore the benefits before potentially using this as part of my crusade to get wireless installed, a BYOD policy and even a tablet programme!

Today I have set up a simple 7 question Database basics quiz in Socrative that is multiple choice and self marking. I have switched off the instant feedback feature so they know which they’ve got right/wrong so we can feedback as a class.

I’m really keen to use the exit ticket next. I want to get this fully embedded in my teaching before pushing it out to other staff.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

